Schedule of Events

11:00–11:30AM PT / 2:00–2:30PM ET

Kick-off & 2021 Report Release

11:30AM–12:00PM PT / 2:30–3:00PM ET

Leadership Perspectives: On Pursuing the Unconventional

Anne Wojcicki & Sonal Chokshi

12:00PM PT / 3:00PM ET

Break

12:15PM–12:45PM PT / 3:15–3:45PM ET

Leadership Perspectives: Blazing Trails in Silicon Valley

Tristan Walker & Kobie Fuller

12:45PM–1:15PM PT / 3:45–4:15PM ET

Leadership Perspectives: Elements of Iconic Brands

Kirsten Green & Julie Bornstein

1:15PM PT / 4:15PM ET

Break

1:45pM–2:15PM PT / 4:45–5:15PM ET

Leadership Perspectives: From Founder to Investor

Gwyneth Paltrow & Moj Mahdara

2:15–3:00PM PT / 5:15–6:00PM ET

Benchmarking for First-Time Funds

Lara Banks, Kanyi Maqubela, Charmel Maynard, Sara Zulkosky

Driving Innovation through Inclusivity

Roshan Kindred, Mita Mallick, Reshma Saujani, Stacy Smith

Lessons from Scale

Allison Barr Allen, Julia Collins, Fern Mandelbaum, Leyla Seka, Laela Sturdy

Prioritizing DE&I in Private Markets:
A Conversation with SEC Leadership

Mac Conwell, Pamela Gibbs, Martha Miller

Investment Trends: Seed

Rebecca Kaden, Sean Mendy, Steven Wolfe Pereira, Alexa Von Tobel

Investment Trends: Crypto

Morgan Beller, Peter Boyce II, Casey Caruso, Flori Marquez

20vc Special Live Episode

Harry Stebbings, Eurie Kim

3:15–4:00PM PT / 6:15–7:00PM ET

Operator to Investor: About the Journey from Those Who’ve Done It

Meka Asonye, Frederique Dame, Dannie Herzberg, Mallun Yen

Independent Impact: Lessons from the Boardroom

Jane Alexander, Amy Chang, Lorrie Norrington, Robin L. Washington

Early-Stage Lessons from Leading CEOs

Gina Correll Aglietti, Cadran Cowansage, Deon Nicholas, Angela Sutherland, Lisa Wu

Equity Outside of Silicon Valley: Media & Sports

Kelvin Beachum, Jennifer Justice, Kara Nortman, Lindsey Vonn

Investment Trends: Fintech

Aditi Maliwal, Katie Palencsar, Laura Spiekerman, Sydney Thomas, Jillian Williams

Investment Trends: Healthcare

Ariela Safira, Deena Shakir, Simmone Taitt, Carolyn Witte, Julie Yoo

Investment Trends: Climate

Kiel Berry, Ann Bordetsky, Fiona Spruill, Katie Stanton

Carta Equity Summit

December 8, 2021
11am-4pm PT

The Carta Equity Summit is a free, virtual event gathering the brightest minds in venture and entrepreneurship around the need to close the gap in equity ownership. At the December 8th event, we’ll unveil the 2021 Carta Equity Report and feature conversations on the state of equity ownership, as well as panels on raising capital, investment trends, benchmarking for first time funds, inclusive innovation, and more. Together, we’ll reflect on the state of equity ownership while unlocking information that people need to access positions with the highest ownership potential.

2021 Speakers

Aditi
Maliwal

General Partner, Upfront Ventures

Alexa
Von Tobel

General Partner, Inspired Capital

Allison
Barr Allen

Co-Founder & COO, Fast

Amy
Chang

Board of Directors, Disney, P&G, Marqueta

Angela
Sutherland

Co-Founder & CEO, Yumi

Ann
Bordetsky

Partner, NEA

Anne
Wojcicki

Co-Founder & CEO, 23andMe

Ariela
Safira

Founder and CEO, Real

Cadran
Cowansage

Founder & CEO, Elpha

Carolyn
Witte

Co-Founder & CEO, Tia

Casey
Caruso

Investment Partner, Paradigm

Charmel
Maynard

Chief Investment Officer, University of Miami

Dannie
Herzberg

Partner, Sequoia Capital

Deena
Shakir

Partner, Lux Capital

Deon
Nicholas

Co-Founder & CEO, Forethought

Eurie
Kim

General Partner, Forerunner

Fern
Mandelbaum

Managing Director, Venture Investments, Emerson Collective

Fiona
Spruill

Chief Product Officer, Overstory

Flori
Marquez

Co-Founder & SVP, BlockFi

Frederique
Dame

Partner, GV

Gina
Correll Aglietti

Co-Founder & CEO, YOLA Mezcal

Gwyneth
Paltrow

Founder & CEO, goop

Harry
Stebbings

Founder, 20VC

Jana
Messerschmidt

Founder, #ANGELS

Jennifer
Justice

CEO, The Justice Department

Jessica
Verrilli

Founder, #ANGELS

Jillian
Williams

Principal, Cowboy Ventures

Julia
Collins

Founder & CEO, Planet FWD

Julie
Bornstein

Founder & CEO, The Yes

Julie
Yoo

General Partner, Andreessen Horowitz

Kanyi
Maqubela

Managing Partner, Kindred

Kara
Nortman

General Partner, Upfront Ventures

Katie
Palencsar

Managing Director, Global Head of Venture Studio, Anthemis

Katie
Stanton

General Partner, Moxxie Ventures

Kelvin
Beachum

NFL Athlete, Investor, Board Member

Kiel
Berry

Managing Partner, Mission One

Kirsten
Green

General Partner, Forerunner Ventures

Kobie
Fuller

General Partner, Upfront Ventures

Laela
Sturdy

General Partner, Capital G

Lara
Banks

Managing Director, Makena Capital

Laura
Spiekerman

Co-Founder & CRO, Alloy

Leyla
Seka

COO, Ironclad

Lindsey
Vonn

Olympic Champion, Entrepreneur, and Founder, Lindsey Vonn Foundation

Lisa
Wu

Partner, Norwest Venture Partners

Lorrie
Norrington

Board of Directors, Hubspot, Colgate, Autodesk, Ancestry, Asana, Workhuman

Mac
Conwell

General Partner, Rarebreed Ventures

Mallun
Yen

Founder and CEO, Operator Collective

Martha
Miller

Director, Office of the Advocate for Small Business Capital Formation, SEC

Meka
Asonye

Partner, First Round Capital

Mita
Mallick

Head of Inclusion, Equity and Impact, Carta

Moj
Mahdara

Founder, Elastic Ventures Corp

Morgan
Beller

General Partner, NFX

Pamela
Gibbs

Director, Office of Minority and Women Inclusion, SEC

Peter
Boyce II

General Partner, Stellation Capital

Rebecca
Kaden

General Partner, USV

Reshma
Saujani

Founder, Girls Who Code; Marshall Plan for Moms

Robin
L. Washington

Board of Directors, Alphabet, Honeywell International, and Salesforce

Roshan
Kindred

Chief Diversity Officer, PagerDuty

Sara
Zulkosky

Managing Partner, Co-Founder, Recast Capital

Sean
Mendy

Partner, Concrete Rose

Simmone
Taitt

Founder & CEO, Poppy Seed Health

Dr. Stacy
L. Smith

Director & Founder, Annenberg Inclusion Initiative

Steven
Wolfe Pereira

Founder & CEO, Encantos

Sonal
Chokshi

Editor In Chief, Andreessen Horowitz

Sydney
Thomas

Principal, Precursor Ventures

Tristan
Walker

Founder and CEO, Walker & Company Brands

Create more owners.

In 2018, the #ANGELS hypothesized that the equity gap was worse than the salary gap. Carta has the data to help track and analyze what they called #TheGapTable. Together, we created the first ever report on equity distribution by gender and have continued to create it every year since. Equity is the largest lever for wealth creation in Silicon Valley and beyond; we believe it should be distributed equitably.

READ PAST STUDIES